# **HOTEL & RESTAURANT ASSOCIATION OF ODISHA**

Regd. Off: Regd. N 105, Janpath, Bhubaneswar – 751001, Orissa, India

Regd. No. – 1078-296 of 1985-86

Ph - 2535777, Mob - 8895883469

Email: execsecy@hrao.org/cmd@swosti.com

Proceedings of the 25<sup>th</sup> EC-cum-30<sup>th</sup> AGM of the HRAO conducted on 26<sup>th</sup> December, 2018 at "Swosti Grand", Bhubaneswar at 4.00 p.m.







Chairman, HRAO presided over the meeting.

Sri Dipak Rathor, Advisor, HRAO welcomed all members those were present in house. He expressed regarding Go-MMT / IBIBO (OTAs) matter which has taken Chairman initiative steps on this matter with FHRAI for achieve the same.

Self-introduction expressed by members to the house.

It was resolved that confirmation of last EC meeting minutes by the house.

**Secretary General's Report**; He read out his report elaborately in the house which is attached with this minutes for information of all members. (Annexure-1)

Treasurer's Report: He read out his report is as follows;

He informed the house that Audited Balance Sheet for the year 2017-18 has been mailed to all members and has been approved by the house.

PARTICULARS	AMOUNT (Rs.)
Fixed Deposit at Federal Bank	Rs. 26,36,609.00
Cash at Federal Bank	Rs. 2,05,126.00
Cash at State Bank of India	Rs. 53,097.06
Cash in Hand	Rs. 895.00

Out of 240 Members – 69 members only paid & 171 members were not paid as their Annual Membership Subscription fees along with Odisha Tourism Conclave contributions as on 26.12.2018.

In this regard, Chairman & Advisor both expressed deeply and suggest Treasurer and Secretary General to follow-up and send them reminders to clear their outstanding dues as early as possible.

## Agenda No.5: Action Plan against OTAs issues;

In this regard, Mr. A. Talukdar has expressed regarding OTAs briefly and decided by the present members that HRAO became the iconic example before the all Odisha Hotel Association with the leadership of our Chairman, Sri J.K. Mohanty. The time & again the steps has been take by HRAO to pressurize OTAs. Also expressed the digital rules & regulations signed by the OTAs & MMTs where the hoteliers are the responsible against any malafide guests and the responsible payments are not clear in their laws and any jurisdiction is limited to their purview. So, it's a eye opener for all the members that before going for new agreement for they should take legal advice.

As members have already written to Go-MMT / IBIBO for revision of commission structure and terms & conditions, Chairman advised members to continue their negotiation with OTAs to achieve the best possible benefits for our members. It was clear that Go-MMT / IBIBO has been charging commission from 8% to 44% to various members at various locations which now stands exposed. Members were again advised to consult their lawyers and follow the guidelines as advised by HRAO for signing contracts.

# Agenda No. 6: Discussion on Excise License Fees;

Mr. Milind Gupta, EC Member read out briefly a Memorandum which has submitted to Excise Commissioner with a copy to Hon'ble Minister – Excise, Pr. Secretary Excise, Additional Secretary Excise & COO – OSBC for their kind reference. (Mailed to all members on 22.12.2018)

#### **Agenda No. 7**: Fire License Issue;

Regarding Fire License, Chairman expressed his views that BDA demands Occupancy Certificate to issue Fire License Certificate. He said very soon HRAO will meeting with DG Fire to sort out the issue.

## Agenda No. 8: Any other points;

i) Mr. Milind Gupta suggest that HRAO Website to be user friendly related i.e. updates to be done in a proper manner. It was resolved that shortly to be done.

- ii) Mr. Sakya Singh raised this matter on PPL / IPRS (Copy Right Act.), it has already been circulated earlier to all members dated 14.04.2017 (Delhi High Court Order) received from HRAEI, Kolkata for not to pay any licenses to any fake organizations on the same.
- Sri Dipak Rathor, Advisor introduced Mr. A. Talukdar that after his voluntary retirement from The Crown and having 30 years of experience in Hospitality Industry. Mr. Talukdar has given his willingness to HRAO to became a consultant to HRAO. The Chairman seconded his proposal and it has been unanimously accepted by the house. He will apply for Associate Member as per the Bye-Law and to pay membership fees.
- iv) Toshali Crafts Mela: In this regard, Handloom & Textiles Department put online bookings for Food Stalls wherein Rajasthan, Haryana, Bihar and other state were allotted but not getting HRAO Member establishments. So, write a letter to Secretary, Handloom & Textiles that first priority to be given to HRAO being local food operators then others.
- v) HRAO Family Picnic; As proposal given Mr. Tarini Prasad Mohanty, EC Member a family-get-together picnic to be made near Astrang, rest arrangements will be look after by him. In response, Chairman agreed to have the same in last week of January, 2019 and it shall be on members contribution basis.

**Agenda No. 9**: Chairman informed that Vice Chairman, Jt. Secretary and EC members should attend all the EC meetings and take responsibilities of increasing membership, collection of dues etc., in the respective district level.

**Agedna No. 10**: Chairman informed the House that the Government had accepted in principal the suggestions made by the HRAO at the Odisha Tourism Conclave. The suggestions are attached herewith for information of all members.

**Agenda No. 11**: Approval of new Membership Application Forms; Following 3 new members were approved by the house, they are;

- 1. Hotel Starway, Balasore
- 2. Hotel Lucky India, Barbil
- 3. Hotel Durene, Bhubaneswar

#### Note:

Finally, Advisor – Sri Dipak Rathor proposed that since elected office bearers are doing excellent job under Chairmanship of Sri J.K. Mohanty, the same body should continue for the next tenure without going for another election. The proposal was unanimously resolved by the Members and a rousing welcome was given to the EC Members.

The Chairman apprised to the present members that those members are elected as EC Members and not attending six meetings consecutive as per the Bye-Law their names will be eliminated from the EC Members list automatically.

Last but not least; Finally Chairman appreciated to all and specially to Mr. Srinibash Subudhi, Mr. Jonathan Raul, Mr. Sujit Ku. Mohapatra & Mr. Milind Gupta for their hard-working and timely attention in Government meetings as & when fixed without fail for the association name & fame.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair, followed by Hi-Tea.

With best wishes, **Srinibash Subudhi** Secretary General

**Encl**. : Secretary General's Report